Getting hit by a drunk driver is a physically and emotionally stressful experience. You may have to deal with personal injuries, injuries to a passenger, damages to your car, and more.
In 2019, drunk driving deaths reached their lowest number since 1982. However, over 10,000 people still died from drunk driving nationwide. Here’s what to do if you are hit by a drunk driver in St. Louis, Missouri.
Seek Appropriate Medical Attention
First, make sure you are in a safe space. Call 911 and get medical treatment as soon as possible if necessary. Drunk driving accidents can cause whiplash, concussions, and severe or fatal injury.
File a Police Report
In Missouri, you are required to file a police report if the crash caused a serious injury or death or caused more than $500 worth of damage. Even if you are unsure if the accident qualifies, file a police report to be safe. If you suspect the other driver was intoxicated, an officer on the scene can document the accident, interview witnesses, and provide testimony. A police report is a valuable, unbiased piece of evidence when you speak to your insurance company to establish fault.
Call Your Insurance Company & An Experienced Attorney
You’ll want to call your insurance company and report the accident as soon as possible. It is also a good idea to speak with an experienced attorney to ensure that you get the full amount of compensation you are legally entitled to for your injuries and damages.
Missouri is a Comparative Fault state – so the percentage of damages you can recover will depend on how much you contributed to the accident. In this case, a police report can be a helpful piece of evidence establishing the other driver was at fault.
DUI Consequences in Missouri
In Missouri, a driver is guilty of DWI if their BAC 0.08 percent or higher. For individuals under 21, 0.02 or higher. A driver can refuse a blood or breath test at the scene. However, under Missouri law, this results in an automatic one-year “Chemical Revocation” of the driver’s license. A driver will have 15 days to challenge the Chemical Revocation to a judge, or they will have their license suspended for a year – even if they never took a blood or breath test.
Speak With an Experienced Car Accident Lawyer in Saint Louis, Missouri
Getting hit by a drunk driver is a physically and emotionally stressful experience. You may have to deal with personal injuries, injuries to a passenger, damages to your car, and more. If you are unable to work or do not have a vehicle to use while yours is being repaired, it can be challenging to earn income. A lawyer with experience handling car accidents can work with your insurance company to get a settlement that covers you.
Speak with an experienced attorney 24/7Click to Call: (314) 361-4242