Recent surveys show that about 13% – about 1 in 8 – drivers in Missouri are driving without insurance.
Auto insurance is essential in our car-focused world. Having an insurance policy ensures that, if you hit someone and it’s your fault, their medical bills, injuries, and other expenses will be covered.
However, what happens if you drive uninsured in St. Louis? Doing so is illegal and carries stiff penalties, but it’s more common than you may think. Recent surveys show that about 13% – about 1 in 8 – drivers in Missouri are driving without insurance.
The Penalties For Driving Uninsured Depend On The Circumstances
There are several different legal penalties that drivers can incur if caught driving without insurance coverage in Missouri. These include:
- Loss of driving privileges – A first-time offender may have their driving privileges suspended until they obtain adequate insurance. Second-time offenders will generally have their driving privileges revoked for 90 days, and third-time offenders for a full year.
- Paying a reinstatement fee – This fee is generally $20 for first-time offenders, $200 for second-time offenders, and $400 for third-time offenders.
- Paying a fine – There is generally no fine for a first offense, but a $500 fine may be charged for second and third-time offenses.
- Jail time – No jail time is incurred for a first offense, but second or third-time offenders could spend up to 15 days in jail.
In addition to this, “no insurance” tickets will never be removed from a driver’s record in Missouri. They will stay on the record permanently, which could affect an uninsured driver’s insurance rates in the future.
Uninsured Drivers May Be Sued For The Damages Incurred By The Accident
If an uninsured driver hits you and is found at fault for the accident, they must pay for the damages caused by the accident. If the uninsured driver does not pay for the damages, they may lose their driving privileges for a year or until they provide proof to the Driver License Bureau that the accident damages have been settled.
As any uninsured motorist lawyer in St. Louis will tell you, one good thing about living in Missouri is that uninsured motorist coverage is mandatory for all drivers. If you have insurance and are hit by an uninsured driver, your insurance company will generally be responsible for providing you compensation.
To make sure that you never have to worry about penalties for driving uninsured – or the costs incurred by being hit by an uninsured driver – make sure you carry a Missouri auto insurance policy that meets the state’s minimum requirements!
Involved in a Car Accident With an Uninsured Driver in St. Louis?
A St. Louis uninsured motorist attorney can help you recover the damages you deserve from your insurance company and the responsible party. If an uninsured driver has hit you, speak with an experienced lawyer today to ensure your legal rights are protected.
Speak with an experienced attorney 24/7Click to Call: (314) 361-4242