Traffic violations in Missouri are covered under section 302 of the Missouri Revisor of Statutes. The penalty system includes a point system, which makes you pay fines and/or gets your license suspended temporarily or permanently when losing them. Each traffic law violation has certain penalties and a number of points, and some will result in jail time if you fail to show up in court or if the offense was serious (like, harming another person or putting someone in danger).
Here are the most common traffic laws violations in Missouri.
Speeding is one of the most common traffic law violations all across the country, not only in Missouri. Drivers show a failure to operate a vehicle responsibly and negligence when choosing to go over the speed limit. Every time you cross that line, you or someone else might be in danger. The associated penalties depend on how much you went above the speed limit.
Running a Red Light
Another common traffic law violation is running a red light, which is just as serious and reckless as speeding. Often, these two violations come together, making the driver liable for negligence. Stop sign and red light violations are class C misdemeanors in Missouri, which means that the driver will generally pay a fine of about $100 and will lose a point from their license.
Driving Without a Valid License
Whether you don’t have a license at all, or it has expired, driving without a valid license is a class D misdemeanor and it will get you a fine of up to $500. This happens when you violate the law for the first time, but the seriousness of your offense grows exponentially if you are found doing that again. A second offense will be considered a class A misdemeanor ($2,000 fine and/or jail time), while a third offense is already a class E felony (up to $10,000 fine and/or 4 years in jail).
Driving with No Insurance
Each state requires minimum insurance coverage for any driver, by law. You must carry your insurance papers at all times when driving. If you don’t have your papers with you, you get a “no insurance” fine, even if you were insured at that time. These fines can never be removed from your record, and the penalties they bring are exponentially bigger if you repeat the violation. You can get your license suspended for up to 1 year, pay a maximum of $400 fine and face up to 15 days in jail if you are caught with no insurance more than three times.
These are the most common traffic law violations in Missouri. These violations often cause car crashes or result in fines. If you have been involved in an accident with someone who was driving recklessly, you have a right to compensation. Get in touch with an experienced St. Louis car accident attorney 24/7 at (314) 361-4242.