Getting hit by an uninsured driver doesn’t automatically mean you will not be compensated for damage and medical costs.
Missouri law clearly states that to be able to drive in the state, you need auto insurance that can cover injuries you did to another person:
- At least $25,000 per person;
- $50,000 per accident;
- $10,000 for property damage.
Even though the law is clear, it is estimated that approximately 13% of Missouri drivers do not have auto insurance. This poses a rather large problem both for the uninsured driver, who may be liable to pay for compensation out of their own pocket and for the injured party who can have a more difficult time getting compensated.
However, getting hit by an uninsured driver doesn’t automatically mean you will not be compensated for your medical costs. The matters are a bit more complicated than that.
What the Process Looks like
If both parties are insured, then the injured party will file an auto injury claim with the at-fault party’s insurance company. A small investigation would most likely follow, but your St. Louis auto accident lawyer can build a case and help negotiate a settlement for you.
When the at-fault driver is uninsured, things get a bit tricky. Typically, you may have three potential options for covering the cost of your treatment:
1. Your Auto Insurance
Part of the idea behind making auto insurance mandatory in Missouri is also to protect yourself against uninsured or underinsured motorists. Here, you will have to file a claim with your own insurance company. They will still analyze the case to see if they have an obligation to cover these costs – if the accident was your fault, for instance, the claim could be denied.
2. Your Medical Insurance
If you have health insurance, you may use it to cover some of your medical costs. However, most health insurance policies have limitations as to what types of injuries or treatment they cover, so it’s possible not to be able to cover the full cost through it.
3. File a Lawsuit against the Other Driver
Auto injury claims are the most common form of resolving these issues and getting compensation, but you also have the option of filing a lawsuit in civil court against the at-fault party.
If the other driver is uninsured, you may file a lawsuit and try to get compensated this way. However, it’s important to understand why the driver is uninsured. If they cannot afford it, they most likely won’t be able to afford to pay for compensation either. If the policy simply expired and they did not renew it, you may have a shot.
Speak With a St. Louis Car Accident Lawyer
If you have been involved in an accident with an uninsured driver, speak with a St. Louis car accident lawyer and see what your next steps are. They can help you make sense of the situation and figure out the best course of action to take to get compensated. Give us a call 24/7 at (314) 361-4242.